Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
JUNE 2014 - Fay Stender Award
Share |

WLALA is Seeking Candidate Recommendations for the CWL Fay Stender Award.* 


Recommendations for the Fay Stender Award are due to WLALA on June 14, 2014.

In 1982, CWL established the Fay Stender Award to honor Fay Stender, a Bay Area attorney who spent much of her professional life fighting for underrepresented groups and individuals.  She was a member of CWL’s first elected board.  She chaired the San Francisco Bar Association’s Employment of Women committee, and served on the charter board of Equal Rights Advocates; Lesbian Rights Project.

Throughout her life, Fay’s tenacity, creativity, and her compelling sense of justice were legendary.  Her commitment, energy and integrity enriched all who were privileged to work with her.

The annual award is given to a feminist attorney who, like Fay Stender, is committed to the representation of women, disadvantaged groups and unpopular causes, and whose courage, zest for life and demonstrated ability to effect change, as a single individual, make her a role model for women attorneys.

The Fay Stender Award is presented annually at CWL’s dinner at the California State Bar Annual Meeting.


•            Zest, humanity, personal courage, forceful presence and non-conformity;

•            Demonstrated commitment to under-represented or disadvantaged groups or unpopular causes.

•            Demonstrated feminist perspective;

•            Vigorous advocacy on behalf of women litigants which serves as a model for women attorneys;

•            Demonstrated ability to effect change as a single individual;

•            Lack of public recognition that the candidate possesses these attributes.

Application Requirements:

Please submit written nominations describing the nominee and the ways in which she meets the above criteria.  The nomination shall not exceed five (5) pages.  In addition, please submit the nominee’s resume and up to five (5) letters of support.

For more information on the criteria and application requirements for the Fay StenderAward, please go to

*WLALA has no role in selecting the recipients in the Fay Stender Award. The selection process is run solely by the California Women Lawyers (CWL), not WLALA.  If you would like WLALA to nominate you or someone else for the Fay Stender Award then please submit the information requested above by replying to this email